Karate Kid – WWC137

Today’s card is my first as a Design Team member for the Watercooler Wednesday challenge! I’ve been playing along with their challenges for a while now, and on Friday I was invited to join them as a designer. I was very excited to accept! Penny is hosting the challenge this week, and it’s an “Anything Masculine Goes” challenge.

For day 12 of the 30 day colouring challenge I coloured up this image, which is The Paper Shelter’s ‘Physical and Spiritual Strength’ digi-stamp. I used my Yosoo alcohol markers to do the colouring. I kept it fairly simple and didn’t add a background as I wanted the boy to really stand out.

More recently I worked on turning the image into a completed card. I first trimmed down the panel with the boy on, and mounted it first onto a piece of black card stock, and then onto a piece of red mirror card. For the sake of efficiency I ‘gutted’ both pieces of cards, removing the centres for future use. This also reduces the weight of the finished card. I used my glue pen to adhere the three layers together.

The sentiment is actually printed out. When I was looking for inspiration I found a free font called “Karate” and just had to use it. I typed out a simple “Happy Birthday” and printed it in black. I then trimmed it down, and cut the ends of the banner at a slant (it makes me think of a karate chop!) Then I matted it onto some of the same red mirror card.

I used foam tape to adhere both the sentiment and matted image onto a kraft card base, which completed my card.

I’m happy with how this card turned out. The red and black work nicely for the look I was after, and definitely give a good pop of colour. The kraft background works well with the colours of the image. I had considered adding a strip of red and black along the card going behind the image, but I’m glad I decided against it as I like the simplicity. It really lets the image pop.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

The Sisterhood of Crafters – Oh Boy

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge – Anything Masculine


12 thoughts on “Karate Kid – WWC137

  1. Welcome to our DT for the Watercooler Wednesday challenges Charlotte. I’m delighted you joined on my week to hostess and were able on such short notice to enter this great masculine card. Love the karate kid image and the layering. So smart to gut those foils for waste and weight considerations. Great card!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Charlotte, what a great job colouring your Karate kid. Love the shading which gives the image a real 3-D effect. I love the way you’ve kept the colours in your card to a minimum. That really adds the spotlight to your image (and, of course, that red foil helps do that as well). I’m so glad you were available to join us on such short notice. Welcome to the group.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.