Watercooler Wednesday Challenge #144 – Penny’s All About Birthdays Challenge

I’ve been doing a lot of colouring in my spare time. Not that I have a lot of spare time, between work, being on 5 challenge DTs, 1 stamp company DT, 1 stamp company YouTube channel, plus running my own blog and YouTube channel… But I’m getting off topic! Most of the colouring I do is during my breaks at work. I don’t always have a specific project in mind when I do my colouring, so a lot of the images end up stored away for future use, which is very handy when I want to make a quick card. (Which is increasingly often, given the previously discussed busy-ness!)

The image I used for this card is Heart Cupcake Marci from La-La Land Crafts. I have the digi-stamp, but it does also come as a rubber stamp. I printed her out and coloured her up with my Spectrum Noir markers. I followed a Kit and Clowder colouring class, though I changed up the colours. I’m trying to do more classes to improve my colouring. This is actually my third time colouring up this particular image, and I’ve definitely improved, but I know there’s still room for improvement.

Anyway, once I’d finished all my colouring I carefully fussy cut the image. Most of it is fairly simple to fussy cut, but the base of the dress and the area between her legs were a little trickier. Once I had her completely cut out I set her to one side.

I’d already picked out a green card base to use as I thought it would coordinate nicely with her dress. It was a bit plain though, so I decided to add interest by embossing some vellum and adhering that over the card base. I’ve embossed vellum a couple of times before and it always seems to end up cracking, which happened again this time! Thankfully none of the damage was too serious.

Next I used double-sided tape to adhere Marci to my piece of vellum. I then turned the vellum over and added more double-sided tape so that it would be hidden behind Marci and not show through the vellum. I then adhered the vellum to the card base and trimmed down any overhanging areas.

Given that the image was already coloured, this card was pretty quick to put together. If I count the colouring time it was a bit more time consuming, but otherwise it really only took the time of doing the embossing and adhering everything together. Really simple. I’m so pleased with how this card came together.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Creatalicious Challenges – Anything Goes

Lil Patch of Crafty Friends – Anything Goes

Watercooler Wednesday – All About Birthdays

…………………………………………………………

Check out what the rest of the DT made:

Charlotte (that’s me!)

Gail

Heidi

Judy

Kath

Libby

Marsha

Penny


13 thoughts on “Watercooler Wednesday Challenge #144 – Penny’s All About Birthdays Challenge

  1. Holy Moly Charlotte, you’re one busy lady. Glad you had time though to create such a cute birthday greeting. The background says it all and your fantastic colouring really draws one in. Love the little girl image, she’s so sweet! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautifully coloured and used for your card, Charlotte. I’m sure that your birthday colouring set is being put to a lot of use lately. Adding the vellum was a brilliant choice. It really makes for a wonderful background for your little lady and adds so much additional texture and interest.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.