WWC198 – Gail’s “All About Holidays” Challenge

With less than a month to go until Christmas I imagine that this week’s Watercooler Wednesday Challenge will be a popular one. We’re all about holidays! And though the team has focused on Christmas, that doesn’t have to be what you create for. Maybe you’ll decide to make a New Year card, or get a head start on Valentine’s or Easter. Whatever the occasion, if it’s a holiday it counts, and we’d love to see you entering the challenge.

For my card I made a relatively simple Christmas scene. I started by colouring some images from Craftin Desert DivasWinter Village Set along with the Winter Gnomeo. I printed them onto some alcohol marker friendly paper, coloured with my Spectrum Noir Illustrator markers, and fussy cut them out. I then set them aside whilst I worked on the rest of the card.

Initially I was planning on doing my whole background using masking and ink blending, but I decided I wanted something quicker. I did do some ink blending to create my sky. I used Stormy Sky and Tumbled Glass Distress Oxides directly on my card base, and added some water splatters for added interest. Then I freehand cut three snowy banks with some white glittery cardstock from my stash. I layered the hills together, added some of my coloured out images, and adhered everything into place with double-sided tape.

I considered adding a sentiment but decided against it as I didn’t have one that felt suitable. If I had added one I would have put it in the top left hand corner, possibly heat embossed in white.

This cute card was very fun to make. I love that the blue of the sky balances with the blue of the little Gnomeo. I did have a bit of trouble colouring his beard and I wasn’t entirely happy with it at the time, but I think it worked out well enough in the end. A little scene like this could be fun to make with interactive elements for a child. For example, if the images were a bit sturdier (maybe laminated) and had some kind of repositionable tape on the back they could be packaged up inside the card, and the front just have the slopes and sky. Then the child could build their own scene by adding the buildings and Gnomeo however they prefer.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas Goes

Creatalicious Challenges – Anything Goes

HLS Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas Goes

Merry Little Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas Goes

Rudolph Days – Anything Christmas Goes

SheepSki Designs – Anything Christmas

The Paper Shelter – Snowy Days

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge – Holidays

…………………………………………………………

Check out what the rest of the DT made:

Charlotte (that’s me!)

Gail

Heidi

Helen

Kath

Marsha

Tristan


22 thoughts on “WWC198 – Gail’s “All About Holidays” Challenge

  1. This is a really cute little fellow. Gnomes are so very popular this year!

    Great Christmas card and orry I am so late getting round to comment…my hands are flared up again.

    Thanks for taking part in the November Rudolph Days Challenge.s

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.