WWC210 – Heidi’s “All About Occasions” Challenge

Today is the start of a new challenge at Watercooler Wednesday. This time it’s all about occasions, and I created a birthday card. This card could also be used for any other celebratory occasion.

I started by creating my ink blended background, using a variety of Distress Oxide Inks. I started with Fired Brick, then moved into Wild Honey, Squeezed Lemonade, Lucky Clover, Cracked Pistachio and Mermaid Lagoon. Most of the colours blended quite well together but I did have to work a bit harder to get the Squeezed Lemonade and Lucky Clover to blend nicely.

Once I was happy with the panel I trimmed it down to fit my card base. I adhered the panel into place and edged it with mirror teal Love From Lizi peel-offs.

I cut another panel of card, this time from a snippet of black. I adhered it overlapping the coloured panel, then adhered a die cut sentiment over the top. I used the MFT Hooray die and cut it from a mirror card matching the peel-offs I had used.

As a final touch I used some Ebony Black Nuvo Drops to add a scattering of drops across.

I’m quite pleased with this card. The ink blending worked better than I’d anticipated. The die cut matching the peel-offs so well was a nice surprise, too! It’s a fun layout, and I think it works well for a birthday or other celebration card.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

…………………………………………………………

Check out what the rest of the DT made:

Charlotte (that’s me!)

Dawn

Donna

Gail

Heidi

Helen

Karen

Kath

Marsha

Tristan


6 thoughts on “WWC210 – Heidi’s “All About Occasions” Challenge

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.