Hello Pineapple

It’s funny how things work themselves out. When the new CASology challenge went up earlier this week I figured I’d have to skip it because I couldn’t think of any stamps in my set that would work for a “prickly” theme. When I got home from work that evening I found a package waiting – my most recent crafty order. And inside that package were a couple of freebies including a pineapple sticker. That’d work for prickly!

I started the card with a plain white card base to ink blend on. I took three of the inks from the Altenew Northern Lights Ink Cube set – Mountain Mist, Volcano Lake, and Lagoon – and started blending them onto the card. I used a cheap make-up sponge and began my blending from the bottom right corner. I used the middle tone, Volcan Lake, in the corner blending out with the lighter Mountain Mist. I then put the Growing Dots stencil from Marabu over the top of my card and blended over it with the darkest colour, Lagoon. Once I was happy with the colour I removed the stencil, gave the whole lot a quick once over with the Mountain Mist, and the blending was finished.

Next I pulled out The Greeting Farm’s Kitty Stacks stamp set. I chose the “hello there” sentiment and stamped it in the top left of the card using MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink.

Finally I just needed to remove the backing paper from the pineapple sticker and adhere it onto my blended background.

This was a very quick card to make. I enjoyed the process though. Sometimes it’s fun to make something that’s very straightforward! I really like the ink, and this stencil definitely suits these colours.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

CASology – Prickly (edit – where it was an honourable mention!)

Muse – Inspiration Card (The elements I picked up on were – layout, ink blended background, and the ‘droplets’ in the background which I represented with my stenciling)

Tracey McNeely’s Muse inspiration card

MFT Camp Create Day 3 – Background Bonanza

Stamplorations CAS Card Challenge – Anything CAS

Watercooler Wednesday – Anything Masculine Goes


20 thoughts on “Hello Pineapple

  1. Yep, pineapples are very prickly! So glad your freebie sticker arrived in time to play with us at CASology! I love the three blended colors and stenciling for your background, perfect backdrop to your pretty pineapple! Thanks for playing along at CASology!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A pineapple! Brilliant! didn’t think of that at all and now I’m kicking myself. Gorgeous card. Thanks for playing along with CASology this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for joining our Masculine Anything Goes challenge at Watercooler Wednesday this week. Great background in your card and way to use that pineapple sticker as your prickly part of the challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.