Easter Bunny

Easter BunnyThis adorable Easter card is a response to several challenges! The sketch is from SugarPea Designs. It seemed a good choice of sketch to use to go with Seize The Birthday‘s “The Great Divide” challenge prompt. Several different challenges provided the prompt of Easter – Cute Card Thursday, Allsorts Challenge Blog, AAA Cards, and Double “D” Challenges. TCP Tuesday‘s challenge to use a bunny fit nicely with the Easter theme, and Simon Says Stamp Wednesday‘s Cute and Cuddly prompt works nicely with it too! And with that background, how could I not enter it into Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper challenge?

As I said above I used a SugarSketch for the layout. The particular one I used is pictured below. I followed the layout almost exactly, excluding the little banner as it seemed like it would make the card too cluttered given the choice of patterned paper I used.

I actually started by finding a bunny digi stamp. I spent some time colouring it, then printed and fussy cut it. Then I started looking through my patterned papers and founds a large bunny image on one of those that I decided I liked better. So I set the digi stamp aside and instead fussy cut the bunny from the patterned paper.

Next I started choosing my papers for the background. I immediately knew I wanted to use the one with the wording. With that decision made I just had to work out which other papers would go best with it. I chose the striped paper first. The colours in the stripes seemed to go well with the colours in the text and on the bunny image.

For the third panel of patterned paper I had a bit of a harder time. The first two papers being so busy I wanted something a bit simper, but the colours had to go with it too. I narrowed it down to four options – red/pink, yellow, green and blue. They all would have worked well, but I decided to go for the blue (with a bit of help from husband in the decision-making!)

Easter Bunny 2The last task was to cut everything to size/shape and adhere it onto the card base. I used my tape roller to adhere the paper panels. For the bunny I used foam tape, with a couple of dimensionals added in for the narrower areas such as behind the eats and the feet.

I’m happy with how this card turned out. It looks pretty good! Although if I’m honest I feel like I didn’t really do much for it – just chose papers, cut them and stuck them down.

Love,

Lady Joyful


21 thoughts on “Easter Bunny

  1. That bunny is just too cute, and I love all those darling papers with the sketch. You did a fabulous job on this. Feels funny when you don’t stamp anything, I know, but there’s no denying this could hardly be any cuter. So glad you shared it with us in our Double D Easter Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great take on the sketch and a lovely image and some really lovely papers used here.
    Thank you for joining in our Easter challenge this week at Allsorts.

    Kath

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What ever you did, this card turned out great! It makes me smile. I’m so glad you shared with us at The Cat’s Pajamas TCP Tuesday challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.