Rainbow Wishes

Rainbow WishesI made this quick and easy card whilst I was Skyping this evening. It’s really simple to make, and yet it still manages to look striking. My inspiration for this card came from the rainbow challenge from Mod Squad, combined with the layout from CAS(E) This Sketch.

The first step to making the card was finding the coloured papers to use. Some of the colours I needed I had as partially used sheets which was nice as it meant I didn’t have to rip into a new sheet for such a small strip.

And that’s quite literally how it was made. I carefully ripped strips of each colour, then lined them up on the card base to check how they were. I wanted the rough edges. Before I stuck them down I worked out where I wanted my sentiment and stamped that on. I went for black ink rather than trying to match any of the colours.

With the sentiment stamped I started sticking on the strips. My tape runner is empty and the refills I ordered a couple of weeks ago have yet to arrive, so instead I used my glue stick which worked well enough. I started with the top (red) strip, the layered the rest on in order, slightly overlapping each and ending with the purple. Then I turned the panel over to trim off the edges of the strips so that they fit perfectly.

Rainbow WishesAnd that was it! Didn’t I say it was easy? I really like the way it turned out. Husband thinks it looks a bit like a rainbow sea. I can see where he’s coming from. I would love to add a tiny little boat into those waves at some point!

Love,

Lady Joyful


4 thoughts on “Rainbow Wishes

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.