Cute Birthday Kitty

Cute Birthday KittyI’m going to try and be quick about writing this post because I was meant to be in bed hours ago! After skipping card making yesterday I stayed up late to get this one finished. Unfortunately that meant the light was no good for taking photos any more…

I made the card based on Mojo Monday‘s layout and the colour scheme from the current Cupcake Inspirations. I’m also entering it to Pixie’s Snippets Playground.

I’d bought this adorable stamp set on my way home from work today and knew I had to try it out. It is Little Meow – Someone Special from Docrafts.

My starting point was the circle. Just before my move I’d die cut a bunch of circles from various snippets of paper so that I’d have some to hand whilst away from my die cutter. I took the largest of the pink circles I had and stamped all over it with the paw prints from the stamp set. I used a pink pigment ink for this, to give a tone-on-tone effect. I tried to be fairly random with the stamping, though it ended up a bit more uniform than I’d intended.

Next I cut the strip for the background. I found a snippet of patterned paper in as close to the “eggplant” colour as I could find. I think it works. I trimmed it down to size and set it aside with my decorated circle.

Next was the image panel. I stamped the sweet little cat tangled in bunting, using Tuxedo Black Memento Ink. I stamped it a few times, using my MISTI, to ensure I got a crisp impression. I coloured the bunting first, going for green-y shades, in keeping with the jade colour in the swatch. I added some basic shading here. I then coloured the cat to be a ginger tabby, at husband’s suggestion. Again I added some basic shading. I cut a green mat for the image panel from another snippet.

Next I stamped the sentiment. The meow comes from the Christmas Cats stamp set, and the Happy Birthday is from Altenew’s Super Script. The meow is part of a larger sentiment and I masked it off for selective stamping. I had to stamp several times to get a crisp impression, and it seems on one of those times I didn’t mask as well as I’d planned.

At this point I started assembling the card. I used my tape runner to attach the purple patterned paper to the white card base. I used the same adhesive to attach the circle with a slight overhang, which I trimmed away, and to attach the image panel to the mat. I considered using foam tape (bought some today!) to raise the image panel but decided in the end to just use the tape runner.

Taking a leftover piece of green card I cut a small banner, making a simple lined pattern on it with my white gel pen to differentiate from the green mat. Finally I made a little embellishment using the larger heart stamp from the Little Meow set. I stamped it in the same pink as the paws, and coloured the lines with dark purple before fussy cutting it.

After adhering the banner with tape runner and the embellishment with liquid glue I added some Wink of Stella to the bunting and the heart as a final touch.

Cute Birthday Kitty 2I’m quite happy with how this turned out. I think the cat is adorable, and am looking forward to making some more things with this stamp set. I would have more to say, but I’m very tired now so… Bye!

Love,

Lady Joyful

14 thoughts on “Cute Birthday Kitty

    1. I did go to bed straight after posting it 🙂 Glad you like the card! I just couldn’t resist buying the stamp set, especially as it was reduced. It also has a stamp of the same cat without being tangled up, which I’m sure will be very useful!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. What an adorable card – I love it. Such a sweet little face and well done on the way you used those snippets too.

    Lovely to see you in the Snippets Playground.

    Hugs

    Di xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

