Bright Flowers on Black

Bright Flowers on BlackI really love the colour scheme on this card. It’s bold, bright and beautiful. I had a lot of fun making it, and I enjoyed having a chance to use Altenew’s Wild Hibiscus stamp set again – it’s been a while since I last got it out!

After picking out my card base and the snippets of paper to use I got on with my stamping. I first stamped each flower onto the green paper, then just the head of each flower onto the pink. I then fussy cut each part. Next I layered the pink of each flower onto the green so that it made one piece.

I wanted to add some shading to the flowers, just to increase the colour depth. I took two shades of pink, one slightly darker than the paper and the other slightly lighter. The taller flower was pretty easy to do but I had some trouble with the shorter flower – it seemed like every time I added in a shadow I realised I’d put it in the wrong place… Oh well!

With my flowers done I cut a strip of each of the coloured papers to go down the side of my card. I was intending just to attach them as they were, but I decided I didn’t like the way that looked. Instead I ran each through an embossing folder. For the pink I used the scrollwork border from the Springtime Background & Borders Set, and for the green I used the lattice from the Butterfly Lattice Set.

With all my parts ready I just had to adhere them in place. I used my tape runner for the paper strips, and liquid glue for the flowers.

Bright Flowers on Black 2

As I said, I love the colours on this card. I think it looks fabulous. And the different elements come together wonderfully. I really like the almost oriental feel it has to it. I just wish I’d done a better job with my shading on that second flower!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Color Throwdown – Black, Hot Pink, and Green

Freshly Made Sketches – Sketch/Layout

Pixie’s Snippets Playground – Use Snippets

 

PS, If you’re looking for my photo-a-day series, it has now been moved over to The Joyful Soul. I do hope you’ll follow me there if you don’t already!


25 thoughts on “Bright Flowers on Black

  1. Such pretty flower and I love the texture you added with the strips. Thanks so much for playing along with us this week at the Color Throwdown!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.