Loving Tree

Loving Tree

When I sat down to make this card I had something completely different in mind. I quickly realised that the plan wasn’t going to work – the stamp I wanted to use was too big to do what I wanted. Which meant I had to change the plan. This is what I ended up doing. It really is very different from my original idea, but it works well anyway!

I started by taking the cluster of hearts from CAS-ual Friday’s Calm and Loving stamp set. I used my MISTI to work out exactly where I wanted it positioned. I then inked it up with two different inks – a pale pink around the outer edges, and red in the centre. I dabbed with a baby wipe to help the inks blend where they met, then stamped down. I repeated the process a few times to try and get the depth of colour how I wanted it, as well as to make sure the colour transition was smooth.

Next I took the tree part of the stamp and carefully lined it up before stamping it with MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink. I think actually grey might have been a better choice, but as I don’t have any grey ink black had to do!

I then went through the stamp set and picked out several of the sentiments. I trimmed down some vellum strips and stamped each of the sentiments onto the vellum with the same red ink then heat embossed them with clear embossing powder.

Once they were all ready I worked out the order I wanted to arrange them and went ahead with adhering them in place. I used my glue pen to add dots of glue behind the letters as well as at the corners of each strip.

Loving Tree 2

This was a pretty straight forward card to put together and I’m happy enough with how it turned out. As I said, I think a grey tree trunk would have been better as the rest of the card is quite soft. I also think maybe I wouldn’t have needed the vellum, and I could have just done the stamping directly onto the card base… In any case, I think this is quite a sweet card.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted To Stamps and More – CAS

Allsorts Challenge Blog – Anything Goes

CASology – Romance

CAS-ual Fridays – Pink, Red & White

Inkspirational – Photo Inspiration (the elements I incorporated are the cluster of hearts, pink, and messages of love)

MFT Sketch Challenge – Sketch/Layout

Simon Says Stamp Monday – Use Your Favourite Tool (I used my heat gun.)

Uniko Studios – Anything Goes and Optional: Love (edit – where it was chosen as one of the top 3!)


24 thoughts on “Loving Tree

  1. What a beautiful card! I love the sentiment strips on vellum (great take on the sketch) and the pretty pinks you used…perfect against the whote card base! Thanka so much for joining us at CASology!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad that persevered and chose ‘another’ plan, because the results are absolutely delightful! Your tree of love is charming; the sentiment, marvelous! Thrilled you shared this gem in the Inkspirational gallery!
    ~carol

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is so pretty and love how you have placed the sentiments on vellum over the image. This has created a lovely dreamy and elegant look. Thanks for joining in on the Uniko challenge & my apologies for my late comment. Hugs Bev x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.