Simply Home

Simply HomeI haven’t had a lot of energy today, but I wanted to get a card made. Which meant something fairly quick and simple seemed the order of the day! This is what I came up with.

I started by trimming a piece of kraft card stock to be just smaller than my card base. I then ran it through my Big Shot with a wood grain embossing folder and set it to one side.

Next I die cut a circle from the same white card stock as I’d used for the card base. I stamped the caravan from Avery Elle’s Home Sweet Home onto the circle. I decided to sponge on pigment inks to create a simple background. I used two shades of green and two shades of blue in order to give some depth to the colouring. Originally I was planning to colour the caravan itself with pencils, but I decided to sponge that too. I used silver pigment ink for the caravan, dark blue for the curtains and awning, and yellow for the light within the caravan. The colouring isn’t very precise as the sponges were a bit clumsy to use on the smaller areas, but it worked well enough.

I then took some black and white twine and wrapped it around my kraft panel, adhering it at the back. I did it to be slightly angled rather than going straight across to add a bit of interest. I then added foam tape to the back of the panel and adhered it to my card base. I also used foam tape on the back of the circle.

The final touch was the sentiment, which comes from the same stamp set. I stamped it with black ink onto a snippet of the same white card, cut it down to make a little banner, and adhered it to overlap the base of the circle.

Simply Home 2I like this card. It’s simple, and whilst it is sweet I feel it has a masculine touch to it. It was nice and easy to put together, and I enjoyed the process of sponging on the colour. The circle panel of course could be made more interesting by creating more of a scene with it, but I feel the simplicity of the image suits the card.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to CAS – Wood

Less Is More – Sketch/Layout

Simon Says Stamp Monday – Transport It

The Male Room – Wheels

Watercooler Wednesday – Masculine


35 thoughts on “Simply Home

  1. I am amazed that you managed to do such intricate work sponging on the colour. Wow. Love how you kept it simple and i agree it has a masculine feel. I also wanted to say how I like seeing what has inspired you with your cards.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well you might not have had energy when you made this, but you had skills and talents a-flowin’! I really like how this turned out. I thought it was so clever of you to pair the RV with a woodgrain pattern to give it a rustic yet elegant feel. I also love the color palette which is so soothing! I wanted to go camping after seeing this card…in an RV as adorable as yours! Thank you for sharing such a delightful creation with us for this week’s Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great idea for a card, Charlotte. The embossed background looks as if it could represent all the roads taken by this little camper. And what a cute camper it is! Perfect for our masculine challenge. Thanks so much for joining our Watercooler Wednesday Challenge this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The ink sponging looks great, and I adore that embossed background! What a fab card. Thanks so much for playing along with us at Less is More 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I really like your card. It is CAS, but so neat with all the elements you have used. I too thought the embossed background looked liked roads this little trailer travelled. The trailer also looks so warm and inviting with the colors tones you have used. Thank you for joining us for Watercooler Wednesday and sharing your card with us. Hope you are feeling better soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is such a sweet card! I love all the texture from your woodgrain background…it works perfectly with your camper! Thanks so much for playing along with us this week at Addicted to CAS!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Not being a stamper I admire anyone who gets results as fabulous as this, your colouring is wonderful, love the embossing. Thank you for joining us at The Male Room Challenge. Faith DT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.