Caravan Sweet Home

I decided to do something a bit different today. This card has no watercolouring, and a more layered look. It actually is not at all what I was going to make when I started creating. I was initially doing something with the Blissful card kit and some gold heat embossing, but I hit a bit of a wall with regards to what I wanted to do with it. So I set it aside and made this instead!

First I created my white panel. I cut a piece of white card down to size then embossed it with a wood grain embossing folder, then set it aside.

Next I cut down a second, slightly larger panel of the white. I took one of the little diamond stamps from Avery Elle’s Home Sweet Home and repeatedly stamped it over the panel, then heat embossed it in clear. I did start with using my MISTI for the stamping so that the pattern would be nice and uniform, but it was taking too long so I switched and hand stamped it, which does mean it’s a bit less neat. As I knew I would be covering the centre of the panel I skipped stamping and embossing that area, as that way I wouldn’t be wasting ink and embossing powder.

After heat embossing the panel I ink blended over it. I started with a dark navy blue pigment ink and used a make up sponge to start blending along the top of the panel. As I moved down the panel I switched to another blue pigment ink so that I could fade down to a lighter aqua blue. I then took a dry tissue and buffed off the embossing. The pattern that I’d previously embossed resisted the ink, leaving those areas white.

Looking through my snippet folder I found a piece of lime green paper which I cut down to make a strip to go across my card base. I then found a snippet of kraft, matching the card base, and stamped my sentiment onto that. The sentiment is from the same Home Sweet Home stamp set. I then trimmed the sentiment banner down and cut a banner tail into the end of it.

The final element I needed to create was the caravan. I stamped it onto a snippet of grey card, then coloured it with colouring pencils. I picked colours that coordinated with the other elements I’d previously created. I then carefully fussy cut it. Usually when I fussy cut I go right along the line as I find that easiest. This time I left a small border as I cut, which worked a lot better than I expected! I need a bit more practice at it though.

With all the elements ready I started assembling the card. I used my tape runner to adhere the green strip onto the kraft card base. I then used Tombow Mono Multi Liquid Glue to adhere the ink blended panel, as that allowed me some wriggle room. I went back to the tape runner for the dry embossed panel, then used my glue pen to attach the sentiment banner. For the caravan I used a combination of Tombow and my glue pen, then positioned it such that the sentiment banner appears to ground it. As a final touch I added a layer of Glossy Accents over the windows.

I am pleased with how this card came out. The different elements came together nicely and I do like the colour combination. I also like that this card has a masculine feel to it but it also works well as a gender neutral card.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – Anything Goes

Always Playing With Paper – Sketch/Layout (edit – where it was chosen as a top pick!)

Camp Create Day 2 – Remarkable Resist

Color Throwdown – Colour Palette (edit – where it was chosen as a top pick!)

Moving Along With The Times – Wet and/or Dry Embossing

Simon Says Stamp Monday – Touchy Feely

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Emboss It

The Sisterhood of Crafters – Anything Goes

Uniko Challenge – Masculine


26 thoughts on “Caravan Sweet Home

  1. Your card is so beautiful and fun! Love your embossed background! Thanks for joining us this week on Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog! Barbara

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.