Watercooler Wednesday Challenge #145 – Judy’s Masculine “Anything Goes” Challenge

Time for another Watercooler Wednesday challenge. This time Judy is hosting, and our theme is anything masculine. I decided to share the card I made for my father-in-law for Father’s Day, which was on Sunday. I’ve been ill for the past week (initially treated as maybe bacterial pneumonia, now investigating my heart to be safe, and basically no idea what’s going on… that’s how it goes!) so though I’ve had a lot of time at home I haven’t been doing an awful lot of creating. After some consulting with husband though I did manage to come up with this idea.

I started with my background, which is stamped directly on the card base. I took both of the goofy glasses-and-nose combo stamps from Paper Smooches’ Chubby Chums Pals and stamped them randomly with Simon Says Stamp Barely Beige ink. I then stamped the separate mustache stamp to fill in the gaps. I also took the little dot stamp from the Chilly Chums set and used that to fill any more areas that I felt needed it.

Next I move on to my focal image. I chose the cat from Chubby Chums, and used masking to stamp it to look as though it is wearing one of the disguises. I used my Spectrum Noir markers to colour in the image, then fussy cut it out.

Before adhering the cat into place I worked out where I wanted it, then stamped my sentiment – also from Chubby Chums – into place with MFT Black Licorice Hybrid ink, which is the same ink I’d used for the cat. I stamped it to be just below where I wanted to place the cat, which meant I could have it act as the grounding for the cat, so that it wouldn’t appear to be floating in space.

Having finished all my stamping I used foam tape to add the cat into place with a little dimension. As husband thinks everything looks better with googly eyes(!) I added a couple to the cat as a finishing touch.

I’m fairly happy with this card. I don’t love it though. It did come out pretty much how I imagined it, but I still feel like it’s lacking something. I think I should perhaps have used a different colour on the cat, because the nose of the disguise/costume kind of gets lost a bit which makes it difficult to understand what you’re looking at. In any case, FIL didn’t hate it, so I suppose that’s good enough for me!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

City Crafter – For The Boys

Lil Patch of Crafty Friends Challenge – Anything Goes

Little Miss Muffet Challenges – Anything Goes

Watercooler Wednesday – Anything Masculine Goes

…………………………………………………………

Check out what the rest of the DT made:

Charlotte (that’s me!)

Gail

Heidi

Judy

Kath

Libby

Marsha

Penny


10 thoughts on “Watercooler Wednesday Challenge #145 – Judy’s Masculine “Anything Goes” Challenge

  1. Hope you’re on the mend Charlotte and not facing anything serious. It’s hard to be creative when you’re not feeling well, but you certainly di a great job with this masculine card. Love the background random stamping and your little focal point guy. Perfect card for a father in law! Love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the ramdom background stamping, Charlotte. Keeping those images pale lets the foreground image “pop”. I’m sorry you don’t really like your card, but it happens at times. Thank goodness your father-in-law loved it and those of us viewing it now do as well. Those googly eyes are the perfect touch for an already cute card.

    Hope you’re beginning to feel more yourself. I had bacterial pneumonia back in January and it took longer than I liked to feel like myself. Take card of yourself. hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fabulous card, love the simplicity and the addition of googly eyes. Thanks for entering into my challenge Lil Patch of Crafty Friends, good luck and hope to see you again. Please ensure your a follower to be eligible for prizes, thanks
    Denise (Owner of LPOCF)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.