Christmas Magic – CIC 435

Christmas is on the mind at Cupcake Inspirations this week, where we are challenging you to create holiday cards. I decided to go for a very non-traditional colour palette with mine, and used a bright yellow card base! It’s certainly different, but I felt it worked for the image I was using. Hop on over to the challenge blog to see what the rest of the team made. And why not play along whilst you’re at it – we have a prize of a $20 gift certificate from Poppy Stamps for one lucky winner!

I started with my image, All Dressed Up’s Christmas Tree Fairy, which I printed onto some alcohol marker friendly paper and then coloured with a combination of Spectrum Noir Illustrator markers and Yosoo alcohol markers. I gave the fairy pale skin and blonde hair, then coloured the tree whilst I decided how I wanted to do her outfit. I settled on blue greens for her dress and shoes, with a pale blue for the wings. I used yellow on all the stars, and coloured the baubles with the same blue green.

Once I’d finished the colouring I trimmed the panel to the size I wanted. I then cut two narrow strips of blue mirror card and adhered it to either side of the image panel to provide a border. I put tape runner all over the back of the panel and adhered it to my card base.

As a final touch, I added Wink of Stella to the wings of the fairy as well as the baubles, to give some shimmer and sparkle to the card.

This was a fairly quick and simple Christmas card to put together. I considered adding stars to the yellow card base but decided not to as I was trying to be quick. That said, adding stars would help to further tie everything together and add more interest, should one be so inclined. The yellow really is an interesting colour for a Christmas card – definitely not the traditional, and it will make this card stand out from the crowd.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – Anything Goes

All Dressed Up – Anything Goes

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas and Optional: A Touch of Sparkle

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – Anything Christmas

Creatalicious Challenges – Anything Goes

Cupcake Inspiration Challenge – Holiday

Lil Patch of Crafty Friends – Anything Goes

Muse: ChristmasVisions – Anything Christmas

Uniko Challenge – Christmas

Winter Wonderland – Anything Christmas Goes

…………………………………………………………

Check out what the rest of the DT made:

Charlotte (that’s me!)

Debbie

EK

Kim

Wendy


30 thoughts on “Christmas Magic – CIC 435

  1. She’s certainly very cute and I love that she’s way oversized for the top of that tree! Fabulous and contemporary Card. Thanks for playing at Uniko.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.