Watercooler Wednesday Challenge #149 – Marsha’s “All About Occasions” Challenge

Happy Wednesday everyone! It’s time for a new Watercooler Wednesday challenge, and this week we’re changing thing up a bit. Our “All About Birthdays” challenge is now “All About Occasions”, be it weddings, christenings, holidays… Any sort of occasion! I decided I would stick with a birthday this week as I already had this card in mind.

I started by printing out the Birthday Fox from Mari Ko onto some alcohol marker friendly paper. I then used my Spectrum Noir Illustrator markers as well as Yosoo alcohol markers to colour the image in. I used my preferred red combination for the fox. I decided to go with a relatively gender neutral colour scheme for the rest of the card, so after adding shading to the white portions of the fox with some light grey I pulled out a variety of greens, blues and yellows and used them to colour the rest of the card.  I then used some very light browns to ground the image.

I decided I would keep the card very simple, allowing the image to really shine. As such, I simply adhered the panel flush to a yellow card base and left it as that.

I am happy with this card. It was a simple enough one to make and literally just required colouring in. Sometimes that’s exactly what I need! I’m very pleased with the colouring, particularly the shading on the fox, and I like how well the colours all tie together. I feel I achieved my aim of going gender neutral with the colours, and this could work as either a masculine or a feminine card.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Lil Patch of Crafty Friends – Anything Goes

Watercooler Wednesday – All About Occasions

…………………………………………………………

Check out what the rest of the DT made:

Charlotte (that’s me!)

Gail

Heidi

Judy

Kath

Marsha

Penny


4 thoughts on “Watercooler Wednesday Challenge #149 – Marsha’s “All About Occasions” Challenge

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.