Solo Violinist – GD for Inkspirational

I am so excited to be guest designing for Inkspirational‘s latest challenge. Marina very kindly invited me, and I jumped at the chance. This fortnight’s challenge is a photo challenge. I deliberated over the image for a while before coming up with my idea. I kept going back and forth over what elements I wanted to include – lace, pearls, flowers, the violin, the musical theme, the pink and white colour scheme… But eventually I came up with a design I was happy with!

I began by printing Some Odd Girl’s Violin Gwen digi stamp onto some alcohol marker friendly paper. I then coloured her in using Spectrum Noir Illustrator markers, along with Yosoo alcohol markers for the shading on the white as I don’t have any grey SNs. I went with a pink and white colour scheme – a pink flowing skirt with a white bodice, and a white violin. I also made her hair clip pink to match the skirt.

I found a sentiment from Simon Says Stamp’s Kind Flowers stamp set and stamped that in MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink next to her.  I then found some musical note stamps from a Lawn Fawn stamp set (Happy Wedding) and stamped those with Worn Lipstick Distress Oxide ink.

I really wanted to add grounding to the image so I masked off the bottom of the card, then coloured it in with some very light brown SN markers to create a floor for Gwen to stand on. Finally I added some Wink of Stella to the image, which gave some really lovely sparkle (unfortunately not visible in the pictures!) but I forgot that I’d printed it rather than stamping with the hybrid ink. My printer ink is not waterproof and it did start to run a little because I wasn’t careful enough with the WoS. Thankfully I realised quickly enough that I didn’t ruin it completely!

I’m very happy with this card. I think it works well for the inspiration image. I’m pleased with the colouring, though a bit annoyed that I muddied up the skirt a little with the Wink of Stella… It’s a fun card though. I’m very happy I could join the fantastic Inkspirational Design Team this week, and I hope you’ll come and play along!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to CAS – Music

Addicted to Stamps and More – CAS

CAS-ual Fridays – All That Glitters (As I said, the skirt is very glittery but it doesn’t show on camera!)

Inkspirational – Photo Inspiration

Some Odd Girl Facebook Challenge – Anything Goes and Optional: Inspired By A Photo

STAMPlorations CAS Challenge – CAS 

………………………

See what the Inkspirational DT made:

Carol

Kylie

Marina

Sandie

Shauna


19 thoughts on “Solo Violinist – GD for Inkspirational

  1. The perfect image to go with the picture and so beautifully coloured- I don’t think you messed up with the WoS at all (and I have made the same mistake in the past!) As you know, when I first saw your card I was struck by the design similarities between it and mine- great minds think alike! I love the pink musical notes and the placement of your sentiment and the way you made the floor really adds to the realism. Thank you for being a fabulous GD at Inkspirational.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is just the perfect image and color palette for our inspiration photo! I’m joining the challenge a couple of days late but was already checking the post and everyone’s cards and just learned you live in Finland! Whaaaaat! I had no idea!! I live in Lahti, in Southern Finland an hour away from Helsinki -where are you located? 🙂 Funny that when coming to your blog now I also for the first time spotted a card with a Finnish sentiment from you, I’ve visited your blog many times but this was the first time! This really made my day to find another like-minded crafter in Finland -there aren’t too many of us here who love stamping and lean to CAS. Have a fun weekend! 🙂 And thanks for being an inspiring GD at Ink!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I currently live in Helsinki but I lived in Lahti when I first moved to Finland. My husband is from Lahti, and his family are there. I expect we’ll move back that way in the future 😊 I don’t have many Finnish stamps, and mostly use the English ones because most of my cards go to my family and friends in England, but I do use them sometimes. I agree it is good to know a like-minded crafter 😊

      Like

  3. What a lovely card! That digi is perfect for our challenge photo and your coloring is spot-on! Congrats on the guest DT position. It is great to have you playing with us at Ink!
    – Shauna

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful coloring and I love how you added the musical notes! Such a sweet card! Thanks so much for playing along with us this week at Addicted to CAS!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You’ve selected the perfect image for the inspiration photo; your violinist, in her pretty flowing, sparkly dress, is absolutely lovely! So thrilled to have you as your Guest Designer; your image is sure to spark creativity to fill the gallery! It’s certainly given me new ideas for future cards…
    ~carol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.