WWC161 – Helen’s “All About Occasions” Challenge

We’re all about occasions at the Watercooler Wednesday challenge this week. I chose to make a wedding card as my design team project, using stamps and dies from Lawn Fawn.

I started by working on my card base. I chose a yellow card base, and stamped a tone-on-tone pattern across it using the bird couple from Lawn Fawn‘s Happy Wedding stamp set. I used a small heart from the same set to fill in some of the gaps in my pattern.

I then took a snippet of white card and started working on my focal panel. I used stamps from the same set to add my sentiment and images, choosing to use the individual birds this time rather than the couple as I felt it better fit what I wanted to do.

I used my alcohol markers to colour in the little birds, keeping them yellow to coordinate with the card base. I chose a pale blue for the female bird’s flower to provide an extra pop of colour. Blue is complementary to yellow, being opposite on the colour wheel. I then die cut the panel using a Lawn Fawn oval die and adhered it to my card base with foam tape.

I am happy with this card. It’s very cheerful and makes a fun wedding card. Often wedding cards are made to be elegant, which I do like, but I think sometimes it is good to do something a bit different. The tone-on-tone stamping adds a bit more interest to the card without detracting from the focal panel.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

HLS Anything Goes With Dies Challenge – Use Dies

Lawn Fawnatics – Use dies

Lil Patch of Crafty Friends – Anything Goes

Paru’s Card Making Challenges – Colour

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge – All About Occasions

…………………………………………………………

Check out what the rest of the DT made:

Charlotte (that’s me!)

Gail

Heidi

Helen

Judy

Kath

Marsha

Penny


6 thoughts on “WWC161 – Helen’s “All About Occasions” Challenge

  1. Oh my goodness Charlotte, this is such a terrific Easter card. You had me at the tone on tone background with that darling Lawn Fawn married couple image, but the peeps on your oval are wonderful too! Terrific card. Loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.