WWC185 – Anything Goes Challenge

I’ve had this design idea in my head for a while now, but only just got around to making it. It’s not entirely how I’d hoped it would be, partly as I’m dealing with some health issues following a procedure, and it’s affecting my ability to craft. But I like the card nonetheless – unfortunately I had trouble with the photographs and the picture really doesn’t do it justice.

I started by stamping all the images on to some watercolour paper. The images are from The House Collection by Melina Dahl for That’s Crafty, and I was lucky enough to win them as a prize recently. I stamped them one at a time and white heat embossed. Though I did overlap them to create my scene I didn’t mask, choosing instead just to wipe away the powder that overlapped. I also white heat embossed the sentiment.

I used my Gansai Tambi watercolour paints to paint my little scene. I’d originally been thinking of going pastel in colour but I changed my mind and used rainbow colours to create a fun collection of houses. I did have a little trouble towards the last stages of the painting as I’d been sitting a bit longer than I should have so my hand was shaking a bit and the paint bled past the lines in a couple of places as a result. But I think it adds to the handmade feel of the card.

I let the panel dry completely then trimmed it down to fit a card front. I coated the back of the panel with double sided tape then attached it to a card base.

I’m happy to have had a chance to work on another card, even if I struggled a bit. I want to jump back in to card making but it’s a bit of a struggle at the moment. I am pleased with this card despite the issues – I think the touches of messiness add to the whimsical feel it has. I do wish I hadn’t had such trouble with the photograph as it really does look better in real life. I’m looking forward to playing with the images from this stamp set more in future.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Watercooler Wednesday – Anything Goes

…………………………………………………………

Check out what the rest of the DT made:

Charlotte (that’s me!)

Crystal

Gail

Heidi

Helen

Kath

Marsha

Tristan


8 thoughts on “WWC185 – Anything Goes Challenge

  1. I love this card, Charlotte! The colouring and images combine to give a whimsical look! So pretty and I can imagine it looks wonderful IRL. I hope you are starting to feel on top of things again. Crafting is such a great way to relax and zone out, even if you’re results are not perfect. Take care! x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.