Relaxing Birthday – SSS Hello Summer Card Kit

This is my last card post for a little while. We’re going to visit my family in England for a couple of weeks, with a wedding in the middle of it. I was hoping to take some craft supplies with me so that I could get at least a few cards made whilst we’re away, but it’s too much to take so I will have to manage without any… At least I have my colouring planner if I want to do something creative! My next card post after this one will probably be on the 15th of July. Hopefully, at least!

For today’s card I started by using the snow globe die from the aptly named Snow Globe Dies set by Pink and Main. I cut the globe from a piece of scrap paper and then used the paper as a mask directly on my card base. I then ink blended through the mask with Seedless Preserves and Spiced Marmalade Distress Inks. Purple and orange are not the best colour to blend with each other because they are almost opposite on the colour wheel and so can turn into a muddy mess. I have done this combination before with some success though, it’s just a case of being careful. I kept my ink blending very light.

Once I was happy with the ink blending I took the clouds from Simon Says Stamp’s Sea You Soon stamp set which came in their latest card kit, Hello Summer. Initially I intended to do second generation stamping with them but I didn’t like the look it was giving me (the blotchiness on the edge of the orange cloud…) so instead I used my ink blending tool to softly apply the colour to the clouds then stamped it down. This worked a lot better and I really love how subtle the purple cloud is.

After removing my mask I took the three little birds that came in the stamp set and lined them up inside the sky area. I stamped them with MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink. I then took the “Time To Relax” sentiment from the stamp set, along with a simple birthday sentiment from Altenew’s Super Script, and stamped them with the black ink too.

This was definitely a quick and simple card which was good given that I didn’t have a lot of time in which to do it. (The sentiment too seems very appropriate as I’ve spent most of the weekend on edge trying to make sure everything is ready for us leaving!) I really like way the ink blending turned out. It’s not perfect but creates a peaceful and pretty sky. I am certainly pleased with this card.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

CASology – Fly (edit – where it was an honourable mention!)

Muse – CASE The Inspiration Card (The elements that I picked up one were – domed focal area, ink blended background, CAS, black sentiment, white card base, flying creatures.) (edit – where it was a featured member pick!)

Kim Heggins’ Muse card

Seize The Birthday – Anything Goes

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

Time Out Challenges – Celebrations and Optional: One Layer Card


32 thoughts on “Relaxing Birthday – SSS Hello Summer Card Kit

  1. Gorgeous card….simply gorgeous! Love your beautifully inked sky, shear perfect. Such a peaceful birthday card, love it! Thank you so much for joining us at Muse this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a delightful design – a very relaxing scene indeed in very pretty, subtle colours. I hope you have a wonderful holiday, and so glad you could share your beautiful card with us at CASology before heading away. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I sure have had my eye on that Summer kit…and now I really want it after seeing your card! Terrific job! Thanks for sharing your talents with us at Seize the Birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Stunning thats what that background is, simply stunning, so soft and it caught my eye straight away. Total winner, love the colours used, soft and beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.