Wizard Birthday (With Video) – CIC 419

It’s that time again! Time for me to share another of my Cupcake Inspirations DT cards for you. This time the prompt is “World of Wizards and Witches”. I really love the cupcakes in the inspiration image – I’m a big fan of Harry Potter! It took me a while to come up with an idea for this card, and even when I did it evolved a bit as it went along.

I do have a video to share with you today, showing how I made this card! I hope you’ll take a look. Alternatively feel free to just read the write-up below.

I started by creating a galaxy background. Actually I created two – one with oil pastels and the other with my watercolour pens. In the end I decided to use the oil pastel version. I added a variety of bright colours in a random pattern all over the paper, then applied a layer of black all over the top. Next I took some white acrylic paint and splattered all over the panel to create stars. I repeated the splatters with some silver for added interest.

I then started creating my little wizard. I stamped the yeti from Lawn Fawn’s Lovable Legends onto a snippet of alcohol marker friendly card using MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink. I then stamped a lightning bolt from Avery Elle’s Be A Unicorn onto the yeti’s forehead.

I used my Yosoo Finecolour Sketch markers to colour in the yeti. The fur and skin are coloured with the E markers – different shades of brown. I concentrated my shading on the left hand side as if the light source is coming from the top right. I actually realised after finishing the card that I should have put more shading around the yeti’s head because the hat would be casting a shadow… Oh well! I also added in some red to the yeti’s cheeks and the lightning bolt scar, then blended them out with the lightest E so that the red wasn’t too strong. With the colouring finished I fussy cut the yeti and set him aside.

I then stamped the witch hat from Lawn Fawn’s Hats Off To You onto another snippet of white card. For the hat I used the cool grey pens with reds for the band. Again I shaded with the darkest edge being on the left as the light is coming from the top right. I did also add some shading to give the hat the roundness that it should have. I then fussy cut the hat and set that to one side too.

The rest of the elements from my scene are all cut from the same dark green paper. I cut one hill using the Clearly Besotted Tree Landscape Die, then two others with Pink & Main’s Scallop Waves Dies. I also cut multiple trees using Impression Obsession’s Evergreen Trees dies.

I cut a frame from black card stock using my paper trimmer as I don’t have any frame dies. I then cut a piece of acetate and used my tape runner to adhere all the hills and the acetate to the back of the frame. I then used some double-sided tape to adhere my trimmed down galaxy background panel to the card base.

I created my shaker frame with a mixture of foam tape and craft foam. I cut the foam with the same Clearly Besotted die so that the curve of the hill would match. In hindsight I wouldn’t have bothered with this as it would have been a lot more straight forward to just use foam tape for the whole thing. Also I later discovered (after assembling most of the card…) that foam tape doesn’t adhere to oil pastels well. I had to peel up the whole thing, put some Glossy Accents under the foam tape, then weight it down with a book and wait for it to dry completely before continuing… Just something to bear in mind if you do this!

I filled my little shaker area with a selection of stars and moons in a variety of colours. I possibly went a little overboard with sequins! Most of the galaxy background ended up completely hidden. But never mind. With all the sequins in I removed the backing paper from all my tape and adhered the frame over the top.

I then moved on to finish my scene. I probably should have done this before adding the frame to the shaker. I played around with where I wanted everything, then used my glue pen and tweezers to get all the trees adhered into place. Before adhering the yeti I took one of my green markers and added a little shadow beneath him, then adhered him in place with the glue pen.

I pulled out one of the wand stamps from Avery Elle’s Pixie Dust stamp set and stamped it onto the yeti’s hand. It didn’t stamp properly because there was a gap in the foam tape behind that area, so I instead used my sharpie to fill in the line. It probably would have been better to just use the pen in the first place so that the wand would have been in the exact position I wanted.

Taking some more of the star and moon sequins I added a sprinkling of them as if they are being shot up from the little yeti’s wand, and used my Glossy Accents to adhere them into place.

The final element to add was the sentiment. I used “have an” (with the n masked off) and “birthday” from the Lovable Legends set, then created “wizard” using Claire’s ABCs. and heat embossed them in white on a piece of black card. I then trimmed the sentiment panel down and added it to the card.

This card somehow managed to be both very fun and very frustrating at the same time! I really enjoyed making a lot of it, but I also had a variety of problems (such as the tape not sticking to the galaxy background) which could have been avoided with better planning.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

City Crafter – No Flowers

Cupcake Inspirations – World of Wizards and Witches

HLS Anything Goes With Dies – Anything Goes

Lawn Fawnatics – Custom Sentiments

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Add A Sentiment

Simon Says Stamp Work It Wednesday – Sparkle

 

 

Check out what the rest of the Cupcake Inspiration DT made:

Charlotte (that’s me!)

Christine

Debbie

EK

Kim

Wendy


21 thoughts on “Wizard Birthday (With Video) – CIC 419

  1. How cute! Great video and I ♥ your accent! Your oil pastel galaxy background looks awesome and I’m glad you shared your “mistakes” as well! I bought some Spectrum Noir alcohol markers because I didn’t want to spend the $$ on Copics, in case I didn’t like them. They are my goto markers! You look like you are doing just fine with yours, well done on the shading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Wendy 😀 My accent has apparently changed since I’ve moved to Finland – it’s no longer properly British, but it’s not Finnish either. I’m informed I have a undefinably European accent 😛
      I’m actually considering going for Spectrum Noir when I ‘upgrade’ markers, haven’t decided yet. I’m quite enjoying these cheapy ones and I imagine the experience will be even better with ‘proper’ markers!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. How funny about your accent! My American Aunt married a Dutchman and lived in Holland for almost 30 years. Her Louisiana accent definitely changed after being immersed in Dutch for so long, BUT their son really doesn’t have an accent in either language, so interesting! Use up the markers you have, you never know what new product will emerge in crafting!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.