Unbelievable Birthday Mermaid

When I first got my alcohol markers back in July I spent some time playing with them. I coloured in a bunch of stamped images, just to practice blending and see how the colours I had went together. I still have a bunch of those images left, and today I was fussy cutting them out for future use, and decided to use a couple to create this quick card.

The images I used are both from Lawn Fawn’s Mermaid For You stamp set. I had stamped them with MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink, then coloured them with my Yosoo Finecolour Sketch markers. After fussy cutting them I started working on the rest of the card.

I knew I wanted to create an ink blended background with a sentiment on it, and though I often like to mix and match stamp sets even from different companies, I decided to stick with Lawn Fawn today. I chose a sentiment from Lawn Fawn’s Lovable Legends, as it seemed like it would be a good fit. I stamped it and heat embossed with clear embossing powder onto a white card base.

I then took my Cracked Pistachio Distress Oxide and started blending it over the background. I wanted it to be almost a cloud of water around the images. Admittedly this colour is perhaps a bit too green to be sea, but it’s closer than any of my other Distress inks! Once I was happy with the amount of ink I added some droplets of water and quickly dabbed them up with a paper towel. This activated the Distress Oxide, giving the fun blue-ish splatters.

I used my glue pen on the back of the mermaid’s tail to adhere her to her companion, then used Tombow Mono Multi Liquid Glue all over the back of both of them and attached them to the card base. I then pulled some sequins out from my stash and added three of them, adhering them with Glossy Accents. As a final touch I added Wink of Stella to the Mermaid’s tail, top and hair, and her companion’s horn.

This card was very quick given that the colouring had already been done ahead of time. I think it’s a fun card even if it’s not really anything super special. I would have preferred blue for the ink blended background, but I am limited by what I have available to me. And the green does tie in nicely with the mermaid’s tail and outfit, so it’s not too terrible!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – Make Your Mark

Lawn Fawnatics – Cards for Kids

Seize The Birthday – Birthday and Ocean Colors

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

Simon Says Stamp Work It Wednesday – Favourite Stamps (The mermaids are a new favourite of mine, and the Lovable Legends set is an old favourite!)


14 thoughts on “Unbelievable Birthday Mermaid

  1. Super cute! I love the blue hair on the mermaid, and that narwal is just adorable! Thank you so much for playing the Lawn Fawnatic Challenge!
    -Samantha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.