Tickled Pink – CIC 417

Today I have a special post to share with you. It’s my first ever Design Team card for Cupcake Inspirations! This week’s inspiration is colours – dark pink, light pink, and brown. I decided that with the pinks a pig would be the perfect choice! I hope you like it, and I do hope you’ll come and join in with the fun.

First I pulled out the Darice Scroll Frame embossing folder and used it to emboss a light pink card base. I bought this embossing folder a while ago but this is the first time I’ve actually used it! I then ran the folder through my Big Shot again, this time with a snippet of watercolour paper. After embossing I trimmed down the watercolour paper so that I would be able to have a white centre to my embossed pink frame.

I then put the watercolour paper into my MISTI and stamped the pig from Avery Elle’s Hogs and Kisses with MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink, which is waterproof. I also stamped a sentiment into the heart that the pig is holding. Tickled pink seemed very appropriate!

I used watercolour pens to colour my image. I only got these pens a few days ago – they are from MozArt and I had a lot of fun playing with them! In order to make sure I wouldn’t be tempted to play with any other colours I only pulled out the three that corresponded to the colours for the CIC challenge. I used my lightest pink for the pig, with just a touch of the darker pink to add some shading. I then used the darker pink on the heart, and added a little brown to the pig’s trotters as well as to provide some grounding for the pig to stand on.

Finally I assembled the card by using my tape runner and slotting the white insert into place in the frame.

As I’ve had a busy few days I only had a few minutes to put this card together. Given how little time I had I am quite happy with how it came together! The colours definitely suited this sweet little piggy!

I hope my card inspired you, and if you want to join in with this fun colour challenge then click here to hop over to Cupcake Inspirations. I look forward to seeing you there!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Cupcake Inspirations – Colour Palette: Dark Pink, Light Pink, Brown

Paru’s Card Making Challenges – Anything Goes

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge – Anything Feminine Goes


9 thoughts on “Tickled Pink – CIC 417

  1. Oh Charlotte, what a sweet little piggy, and so beautifully watercoloured! And what a perfect sentiment it is holding. Love it! The subtle embossing in the background makes me think of swirls on a cake. So cute and fits so well. Love the shape you’ve cut the main image—a die, I suppose. Beautiful work. Thanks so much for joining our Watercooler Wednesday Challenge this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 Actually I fussy cut that panel, after embossing it in the same folder, to match the shape from the scroll frame. A die would’ve been quicker! 🙂

      Like

  2. Super cute card Charlotte. I love how you used the inspiration to advantage on this card. The little heart in the pigs hand is really sweet. Thanks for playing along with us at the Watercooler Wednesday Challenge this week

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.